
Animal Chiropractic
in Nevada

Statutory Authority 
(NRS 638.070)

Adopt regulations...'Concerning alternative 

veterinary medicine...acupuncture, 

chiropractic procedures, dentistry, 

cosmetic surgery, holistic medicine...under 

the direction of a licensed veterinarian.'

Definition NAC 638.800

“Animal chiropractic” means the 

examination and treatment of a nonhuman 

animal through the manipulation and 

adjustment of specific joints and cranial 

sutures of the animal.

Licensure of Animal 
Chiropractors (AC)

Bi-annual

30 hours of CE each 2 year period

License verification with NV 

Chiropractic Board

Renewal

Active as a chiropractor for at least 1 year
Licensed with NV Chiropractic Board

Certified with the AVCA or similar 

organization approved by the Board 

Supervision

Referred by veterinarian (under VCPR)

AC assumes liability for services 

48 hours send medical records (MR) 

to referring veterinarian

MRs must contain: patient 

information, exam findings, 

diagnosis, treatment plan, progress, 

and outcomes. 

Discipline

Refuse to issue 

Refuse to renew 

Revoke

Suspend 

Fines up to $10,000 for each act

Probation with reasonable conditions

Public reprimand;

Competency/mental/physical exam 

Pay fees and costs 

Questions? pedigo@vetboard.nv.gov 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-638.html#NRS638Sec070
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-638.html#NRS638Sec070
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-638.html#NAC638Sec800


Animal Physical Therapy
in Nevada

Statutory Authority 
(NRS 638.070)

Adopt regulations...'Concerning alternative 

veterinary medicine...acupuncture, 

chiropractic procedures, dentistry, 

cosmetic surgery, holistic medicine...under 

the direction of a licensed veterinarian.'

Licensure of Animal Physical 
Therapists (APT)

Definition NAC 638.750

rehabilitation,...not include animal chiropractic:
     1.  Stretching;
     2.  Massage therapy;
     3.  Rehabilitative exercise;
     4.  Hydrotherapy;
     5.  Application of heat or cold; and
     6.  Stimulation by the use of:
          (a) Low-level lasers;
          (b) Electrical sources;
          (c) Magnetic fields; or
          (d) Noninvasive therapeutic ultrasound.

Bi-annual

10 hours of CE each 2 year period

License verification with NV PT Board.

Renewal

Active as a PT for at least 1 year

Licensed with NV PT Board

100 hours course work (Animal PT 

specific). 

125 hours veterinarian supervised 

clinical work.

Supervision

Referred by veterinarian (under VCPR)

APT assumes liability for services 

48 hours send medical records (MR) 

to referring veterinarian

MRs must contain: results of basic 

rehabilitation exam, diagnosis and 

treatment plan, and progress and 

disposition of the case. 

Discipline

Refuse to issue 

Refuse to renew 

Revoke

Suspend 

Fines up to $10,000 for each act

Probation with reasonable conditions

Public reprimand;

Competency/mental/physical exam 

Pay fees and costs 

Questions? pedigo@vetboard.nv.gov 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-638.html#NRS638Sec070
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-638.html#NRS638Sec070
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-638.html#NAC638Sec750


Equine Dental Providers 
(EDP)

Statutory Authority 
(NRS 638.070)

Adopt regulations...'Concerning alternative 

veterinary medicine...acupuncture, 

chiropractic procedures, dentistry, 

cosmetic surgery, holistic medicine...under 

the direction of a licensed veterinarian.'

Definition NAC 638.740

 Examination and treatment of the mouth and 
teeth of...equine using the following techniques: 

(a) The removal of enamel points from teeth;
         (b) The maintenance of normal molar table 
angles and freeing up lateral excursion and other 
normal movements of the mandible; and
        (c) The removal of points from the buccal 
aspect of the upper arcade and the lingual aspect 
of the lower arcade.

Does not include extraction of teeth...oral surgery. 

Licensure of EDP

Bi-annual

16 hours of CE each 2 year period

Proof of current certification status 

with the professional equine dentistry 

organization. 

Renewal

Certificate from a professional equine 

dentistry org. approved by the Board.

Statement from a licensed veterinarian 

experience in large animal medicine 

that the applicant will be under their 

direct supervision.

Supervision

Direct superivision by veterinarian 

(under VCPR)

EDP assumes liability for services 

48 hours send medical records (MR) 

to referring veterinarian

MRs must contain: the dental chart of 

the animal and the progress and 

disposition of the case 

Discipline

Refuse to issue 

Refuse to renew 

Revoke

Suspend 

Fines up to $10,000 for each act

Probation with reasonable conditions

Public reprimand;

Competency/mental/physical exam 

Pay fees and costs 

Questions? pedigo@vetboard.nv.gov 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-638.html#NRS638Sec070
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-638.html#NRS638Sec070
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-638.html#NAC638Sec740



